High Sierras

I’m back in the golden sunny state of California, and just about to start being a studious graduate student at Caltech in Control and Dynamical Systems. But before settling into my apartment in Pasadena, I went on a 6 day hiking trip with a few other new Caltech students. We started out in Sequoia National Park, at Wolverton, and made our way to Elizabeth Pass via the High Sierra Trail. Once we’d gotten over the grueling 3,500 feet of elevation gain of the Pass we winded our way through the gropple (a cross between hail and snow) down into Deadman Canyon. The following day the skies cleared a little and we were rewarded with some spectacular views up the classical glacially carved canyon. This is going to be a very short story, as my apartment still needs a lot of work before it’s completely livable, but I wanted to share these with you before I get drowned in Linear Operator Theory.


“Deadman’s Peace” ~ King’s Canyon National Park
The Tech: Canon 5D, 17-40mm @ 22mm, tripod, polarizer, 2-stop hard GND filter
Exposure: iso 100, f/16, 1/13th sec
Processing: Converted to B&W with ACR 4.0, slight duo-tone, and burn dodge as needed to balance the exposure. For the burn/dodge I actually used the same image, imported through ACR 4.0 twice to maximize image quality.

As we wound our way through the canyon we came across several stands of aspen, some of which had already started to turn gold.


“Golden Attire” ~ King’s Canyon National Park
The Tech: Canon 5D, 17-40mm @ 28mm, tripod, polarizer
Exposure: iso 100, f/16, 1/4th sec

The final night we spent at Twin Lakes, the larger of which contains a number of interestingly shaped boulders. The evening light, filtered through the smoke from several raging wildfires, created an incredibly saturated red light on the granite cliffs.


“Twin Rubies” ~ Sequoia National Park
The Tech: Canon 5D, 17-40mm @ 20mm, polarizer, tripod, 2-stop hard GND filter
Exposure: iso 200, f/16, 8.0 sec
Processing: local burn/dodge and contrast adjustments.

As I am now back in town, I will start processing all my images from this summer on my calibrated monitor (these three are the first to get the real treatment since May!). These final images will appear on my site as I process them. I will also begin accepting print orders again, though it’ll probably be about 6 weeks or so before I can start shipping. For pricing, please see the pricing page on my website

Leave a Reply

